Flip flops in my yard, bicycles in my driveway…

Standard

IMG_0295 (1)

No, I do not have children or grandchildren nearby.  My nieces and nephews one block over are too busy with sports, music lessons, and homework at this time of year to do a drop-by.  These items come from the kids next door.  I love those kids.

As I have written before, they have the largest yard in the neighborhood.  Theirs is the equivalent of two, maybe even three lots.  Yet, most days after school, they are playing in my yard, front and back.  They are climbing my dogwood tree.  And now, they are leaving their bikes parked in my driveway.  They spread out, those ones do.

When I was clearing out a flower bed yesterday, I found a golf ball, tennis ball, and an arrow.  Oh my, what that arrow must have missed to land where it did.  I am leaving it.  In back, there is a football by the side of the house.

IMG_0297

I took the flip-flops over to their yard, moved the bikes so I could back my car out, and I thought how wonderful it is to have all this LIFE surging around me.

4 responses »

  1. They have accepted and now love you, another adult they trust in their world. I love that Deb and what a great gift to their parents who are always looking for trusting adults to be that village for their kids. Thanks for all you do to impact today’s children!

Leave a Reply

