Hold off on the ark…

Standard

“Here comes the sun,” as The Beatles once said.  It has been a very, very rainy two weeks here in the North Carolina Piedmont.  While we did not get the two dozen inches of rain that the people of Columbia, South Carolina did, we got more than our fair share.

The excessive rain came from a double banger…a front from the west and a hurricane from the east.  Thankfully, the hurricane was downgraded, and did not come ashore.  We were blessed; however, with all the sky had to throw at us for a time, and though we were in need of rain, it was overdone.

Here at my tiny house, I recorded 3.5 inches in two days.  I emptied the rain gauge, and the second round is shown in my photo.  A huge power outage resulted on Sunday for four hours.  Fortunately, the power was out from 9:30am to 1:30pm, and though the skies were overcast and spitting, it was still light enough and the temperatures mild enough to see and be comfortable.  No Internet, TV, cooking, and I even limited phone use, as I wanted to save the charge on my phone, but I did have the good old-fashioned Sunday newspaper, complete with many ads and inserts.

IMG_0324

Now, the sun shines.  It is good to have such reminders of the simple things and all for which to be grateful.  I didn’t need that ark, or even a canoe.

One response »

Leave a Reply

