I fried apples today…

Standard

It’s a southern thing, and if you haven’t ever fried apples before, you must do it.  It is that time of year.  If you haven’t fried apples in a while, go fry some right now.  My first mother-in-law introduced me to fried apples.

I am not proud of the fact that I have had two mothers-in-law.   I didn’t make great choices for marital partners.  The first husband, I could have done without, but I am not sorry about the second one.  He liked fried apples, too, though he wasn’t technically southern.  I’m not, either.

This is the way I fried them:  cut, core, and slice apples.  Mine had red skins, and I don’t know anything else about them.  Put a little olive oil in a skillet on medium heat.  I often get accused of cooking things on too high a temperature, so my medium heat may not be real medium heat.  After a few minutes, and that is probably only one, put in a big hunk of butter, which may be a couple of tablespoons.  Then sprinkle two tablespoons of Tubinado Raw Cane Sugar over all of it.  I did measure that.  I am sure any sugar will do, even brown.  Let it simmer, stirring every now and then.  When the apples look done, they are.

IMG_0377

Fried apples are good for breakfast, and I like them with just bacon, but some people like them on biscuits or toast, or on oatmeal.  They would be a good dessert, too, with cream over them.  They can be eaten warm or cold.  At my tiny house, they get eaten both ways.  Now that I think about it, cinnamon would be really good.  I think I’ll add some right now, while it is on my mind.  Enjoy.

And, while I am sharing recipes, here is the Sugar Cream Pie recipe I mentioned last summer.  It is actually a 200 year old recipe.  Some of you asked for it, and I forgot about working it into a blog post.

1.5 c sugar           2.5 c heavy cream

1/3 c flour            2 t vanilla

½ t salt                  1 T butter, melted

1 unbaked pie shell,  I already gave you the recipe for that.

Mix dry ingredients.  Stir in wet ingredients.  Beat well.  Pour into pie shell.  Bake 10 minutes at 450 degrees, then turn oven to 325 degrees and finish up baking approximately 35 minutes, but keep going until the pie is set and a knife comes out clean.  This is an Indiana recipe, but it should be southern.  I think I will work on that.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

