Rainy days and Mondays…

Standard

Remember that old Carpenters’ song?

Rainy days and Mondays could get me down, IF I still taught children full time.

IMG_0385

Let me list the things I DON’T miss about a full time teaching gig…

  1. Having to get up at 4:30 AM on Mondays or any other day of the week.  I still get up at a ridiculous time ‘most every morning.  “Sleeping in” for me is usually 6:30, and most days I am awake at 5:30.  But I don’t have to get up then.  I can lie in bed and think, crawl deeper under the covers, drift off.
  2. Grading papers and report cards. I get evenings and Sundays all for my own tasks.  Funny, I still do laundry and change bed linens on Sundays, but I don’t have to that.  It is a choice that sometimes runs over to Mondays or even Tuesdays.
  3. And on that same note, I don’t miss writing my weekly classroom newsletter and emailing it out to my school families on Sundays. The newsletter was great practice for blogging, but I don’t have to blog on a deadline.
  4. Wearing holiday clothes. I said when I retired that I wasn’t going to dress like a large child anymore.  I don’t, mostly, but today (a rainy day) I am wearing my thunder-and-lightening socks.  I am also wearing my Rainy Day sweater.  Friday, I will sub in the Pre-School.  I will wear some jack-o-lantern socks.  Some habits die hard.IMG_0384
  5. Indoor recess with 25+ kids of any age. I really don’t miss that one bit.  My indoor recesses consist of quality time with me, and that is pure peace and often includes a nap.
  6. I don’t miss my five-day-a-week commute to school, though I do miss my carpool partner and best friend terribly. My commute these days is a three minute walk… five, tops, if I stop to chat with a neighbor on the way.
  7. Meetings, endless meetings, staff, Board, team, staff development.  Not missing them at all.
  8. The obligation to be “at work” five days a week. If I get the chance to spend a long weekend with my lake friends, go to the beach with my sister for a week in October, go to my folks’ in Wisconsin for three weeks in December and January or to the farm for two months in the spring, I just GO, baby.

There are a lot of things I DO miss about my full time teaching career, but I don’t miss them very often.  That is a topic for another day, and a much shorter list.  Oops.  Nap time.

2 responses »

  1. So Deb,
    Tis lovely to read the honest to God truth about working and retirement. You have captured the essence of “going forward” yet looking back at a time when getting the job done was the joy of the day, even though it was hard work. I look forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

