The Colors…

Standard

FullSizeRender (9)

The leaves here peaked at least three weeks ago.  They were beautiful, as they are every year.  I didn’t realize how much I missed a real autumn when I lived in Arizona.  The leaves there turned, too.  It just happened to the Cottonwoods along the rivers and creek beds…in January, for heaven’s sake.  And they are only yellow.  Not the vivid reds that I find underfoot in my North Carolina piedmont neighborhood.

So when I walk everyday, which I do three or four times, I find myself picking up leaves.  I am compelled.  Even when I try not to, I come home with a handful.  This week, the leaves on the ground seem exceptionally beautiful, and I am not sure why, but I have a theory.

IMG_0403

The last ones are the best because they have longer to just be.  There is something to be said for being among the last, rather than the first.  As a late bloomer, I can see this first hand.  Maybe that is what calls me to embrace these last, but brilliant bits of color.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

3 responses »

  1. Saving the best till last, always a full filling part of our day and lives. You know Deb, you could be a preacher for modern day folks… relevancy is so needed now, and your words and presentation come with ease. It could be your next career, or even your last. Ponder on that!

  2. At church on Sunday (here in Tucson, AZ) the pastor made a joke about instead of the leaves changing color the license plates change color….evidence of all the out of state snowbirds migrating south. 🙂

Leave a Reply

