Oh, Snowy, Where Aren’t Thou?

Standard

Snowy has vanished, and I know not where he has gone.

Snowy is my sister’s large, wire-and-light, polar bear.  He is a holiday yard ornament, and has been on “sisterly loan,” standing guard on my front lawn for the past four Christmases and one week, this year.  He wasn’t a very good guard, because he did not growl, roar, or attack the ones who snatched him from his given place early on the morning of Sunday, December 6.

DSC00780

The ones who blatantly unplugged Snowy and carted him away didn’t get much of a bargain.  His opposing legs, right front/left rear, were dark.  His motorized head has not turned from side-to-side for several years.  His left ear is blackened from a tumble he took in the mud last winter.  His red neck ribbon was a sorry replacement.  Still, he was a sturdy guy, and he made me happy to see him in his special spot out front this time of year.

It is odd that Snowy was bear-napped.  My street is only a half-a-block long, with four houses, total.  I suppose that having no homes on the west side of the street made it a little easier to do the deed, but why would anyone even come onto my street, much less be in the market for a very large Christmas decoration to swipe?  It can’t have been easy to quickly unplug him in the dark and toss him into a get-away vehicle, either a trunk, truck bed, or back seat.  It is not likely at all that the thief or thieves would have carried him running up the street.  It is very curious.

So, Snowy is gone. I am glad I knew him.  He was a very good bear, though his guard skills did either of us any good.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

Leave a Reply

