Blue, the Color, not the Mood…

Standard

When the snow covers the rolling fields and hills of southern Wisconsin, at two times of day the world looks BLUE.  It is amazing.  The blue is a soft, light navy-ish purple.  Though I try to capture this color in a photo, because I don’t have the words, it needs to be seen in person.

FullSizeRender (3)

I have a hard time pinning down a favorite color, and if asked, I would answer that mine is red, not blue, but blue takes a very close second place. The blues that I am attracted to are sometimes vivid, and sometimes subtle.  The two-blue-times of day are more subtle.

It is hard to have “subtle” on a sunny day when the snow covers rural Wisconsin, though. Then, the blinding light hurts our blue Norwegian eyes.  I say “our” with tongue-in-cheek.  If you know me, you know that my complexion is more Mediterranean than Scandinavian, but I do have those eyes.

Yesterday was a photographer’s dream day.  Everything looked sharp and focused.  As is typical for me, I did not have my phone, and couldn’t capture the blinding blue of the sky, which I would call Carolina Blue, the blue to which I return tomorrow.

Vivid or subtle, I can see why blue is often used to describe the moods of longing and need.  Next time I get my Wisconsin fix, it will be summer. That season brings a whole new pallet of blues, the color.

For right now, I struggle a bit with blue, the mood. Hoo-boy.

2 responses »

  1. You shall be missed here under the blue sky of Wisconsin, oh that the other Badger folks could find what you have… tis the fields and streams which give the land its personality and you captured it Deb. See you tonight at choir, where I have a song which will make your heart sing and the Holy Spirit mark your soul.
    Jeanne

  2. Think affe tive light disorder….after all, your body had AZ light for years…..My sister has it…so. CA for years then, wham, WA and Idaho…the spe isl lightbulbs all over her house really helped her…es o e ially dice it always seems to be fluorescents at school.

    Exercise does the job on blues for me…c of course I have much light…and my colors are certain greens with a blue cast..new jojoba leaves…and the contrast, red rock, iron rust. 🙂

    And..sky

    What a rich world you are living in, my friend, open to the natural one, and always nurturing the human one. Hug.k

Leave a Reply

