City Girl, Country Girl…

Standard

It has been two weeks since, I returned to my home in the city, from my folks’ farm in the country.  My city home is in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.  My country home is in rural south central Wisconsin, not too far from Madison.  You get the picture…total contrast.

My city home is within view of the city skyline.  I hear the choppers delivering the sick to the major area teaching hospital within walking distance.  I see the sun reflect off the “skyscrapers” at dusk.  I see the changing colored lights of our mini-Empire State Building…for reals.  (Ours was the proto-type, and the real one in NYC sends ours a card on Father’s Day.)  I walk or could walk just about anywhere I need to go…the Y, Whole Foods, my bank, the school where I substitute, my church, my brother’s home for Pizza Night.  I am here about 9 months of the year.

My country home is in the midst of hundreds of acres, and includes two of my sisters’ homes, the folks’ farm, and a brother’s place in-between.  There are the typical red barns with silos and standard out-buildings, the rolling fields, the horses, and some cattle.  The quiet is only broken by the sounds of birds, farm equipment and animal noises.  Oh, there are some traffic noises, too, of commuters coming and going to Madison for work. I am there the other 3 months, give or take.

Though different in so many ways, I love my two lives.  Each has joy and fullness.  The other evening, I was asked, “If time and money were not issues, what would you do?”   I was momentarily gob-stopped.  Though I don’t have a lot of money, I have something even better…time and love.  How could I have missed it?  I am livin’ my dream.

IMG_0834

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

3 responses »

  1. Big new year smile On Jan 21, 2016 8:04 AM, “Horton Hears Herself” wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “It has been two weeks since, I returned to > my home in the city, from my folks’ farm in the country. My city home is > in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. My country home is in rural south > central Wisconsin, not too far from Madison. You get the picture…t” >

  2. We miss you here in the farm land Deb, how fortunate for you that you delight in both surroundings which are so vastly different. We are fortunate to have you here when you can get here. Miss you in choir for sure! Jeanne

    On Thu, Jan 21, 2016 at 9:04 AM, Horton Hears Herself wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “It has been two weeks since, I returned to > my home in the city, from my folks’ farm in the country. My city home is > in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. My country home is in rural south > central Wisconsin, not too far from Madison. You get the picture…t” >

Leave a Reply

