Old enough to know better, too young to care…

Standard

You would have to be living under a rock not to know that entire eastern part of the country experienced a huge snow storm this past weekend.  Some parts of the country were hit harder than others.  We, here in the Piedmont of North Carolina, did not get hit as hard as was predicted, thank you Lord, but we got plenty, as it was.

Today was the fourth day of “snow-bounded-ness,” and yesterday, I felt a strong need to get more exercise than walking to and from the tea kettle.  I pulled on my mom’s snow boots inherited from her final winters in northern Indiana, and I headed out to walk around the block with my pup.  As we approached the last turn, I saw the kids sledding down the hill, and hey, it looked like a lot of fun.

FullSizeRender (13)

I took my dog home, got my phone to take pictures, and one of the sledders was my nephew.  I asked him if I could use his Flexible Flyer for a run.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.  I got my instructions, which were quite clear, and shoved off.  Wouldn’t you know, a neighbor decided to back out of his driveway right in front of me.  I pulled to the right with all my might, missed the car, but could not avoid the parked pick-up that appeared right in front of me.  Hoo-boy…I slid right under that thing.  And I made a very abrupt stop.   I just hate that Newton’s Law.

IMG_0842

I am not hurt, well, badly.  I have a pretty good skid mark up my left leg.  I have a very sore sternum.  My arm and back muscles are sore from the pulling.  I can say it would have been a pretty good core work out, if I had not clunked.  I am very, very lucky.

I am also retiring from sledding.  I felt really young for a few nano-seconds.  I felt really old and stupid after.  Oh.  And pretty darn lucky.  Again, thank you, Lord.

4 responses »

  1. Another AH-HA moment which turned out in your favor. I love your kid spirit Deb, was your camera injured? I’m glad you came out of this with lots of luck and a bit of good timing… Jeanne

    On Mon, Jan 25, 2016 at 5:39 PM, Horton Hears Herself wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “You would have to be living under a rock not > to know that entire eastern part of the country experienced a huge snow > storm this past weekend. Some parts of the country were hit harder than > others. We, here in the Piedmont of North Carolina, did not get ” >

  2. WOWEE. I too am so thankful you did not get yourself RUN OVER. Now I am anxious about those darned KIDS.

    A beautiful weather event but for the fatalities and suffering of those without homes or without heat.

    I admire your chutzpah but it is a lesson to me. When you get the urge to exercise, especially in an unusual way….slow down.

    Our yoga lesson today. The first yama, ahimsa….including behing non-harming and kind and gentle to yourself.

    Sending you THOSE thoughts. Gentle love from friends, gentle love for this one amazing life, and body.

    Big hug Deb!

    Katherine

    On Mon, Jan 25, 2016 at 3:39 PM, Horton Hears Herself wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “You would have to be living under a rock not > to know that entire eastern part of the country experienced a huge snow > storm this past weekend. Some parts of the country were hit harder than > others. We, here in the Piedmont of North Carolina, did not get ” >

Leave a Reply

