Of Aprons…

Standard

I just love an apron.  I like to wear an apron when I cook.  When I cook with others, I like to provide aprons for them.  I put aprons on my Aussie boys when I taught them to bake pies.  Last summer, when I made pickles with my brother-in-law, I brought over aprons for both of us.  When I canned tomatoes with a friend, I did the same.  I wear an apron when I do a gluey or painty-type of craft.

DSC00989

I like to sew aprons, too.  I have repurposed sun dresses, old skirts and men’s old shirts into aprons.  I have made aprons using patterns, and I have made up my own way of putting them together.  I have sewn theme type aprons for western parties and Mexican dinners.  When I sold produce at the Farmer’s Market in Wisconsin, I made vegetable print pocketed aprons.

I bring back aprons from the countries I visit when I travel internationally.  I have a French smock (see above) that all the little old village ladies wear over their house dresses.  All old French village ladies are little.  I just love that thing.  It is one of my favorites.  I have the Parisian printed black cat apron and one with the Moulin Rouge can-can girls.  I have one with the Australian flag.

Skirt aprons are fine, and I have a few of them, but my favorite type is a bib.  That’s because I am messy, and I wear an apron to…wait for it…protect my clothes.  I own the first apron I ever made, a 7th grade Home Ec. Project.  I was scolded by the teacher for buying a patterned fabric which might have been printed just slightly awry.  I never wear it.  I have a crocheted apron I would never wear, either.  I have sold some of my aprons in gift shops, but those are mostly the one-of-a-kind ones.  Making the same thing over and over wears thin with me quickly.

I even have a book about aprons.

Today, I wore the button print apron my best Lake friend gave me for Christmas.  I was making soup, and wouldn’t you know, I splashed tomato sauce on my sleeves.  Next, I guess I will need a full body suit apron.  Maybe a bee-keeper’s cover-up could be converted!

FullSizeRender (14)

These winter days are the perfect ones for sewing.  Guess I’ll go through my stash, pick out a few fabrics, and make something.  An apron, maybe?

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

5 responses »

  1. Ah Deb,
    You were born too late when it comes to aprons, but, you are the come back kid. My Grandma Julseth wore three aprons at a time on the weekends… Top one was for dirty work, second one was for sitting at the table with the family, the third was in case unexpected company came. I think an apron shower might be fun to do this coming summer when you come to Wisconsin!
    Everyone brings an apron in a wrapped package and puts it on the table. Then every one chooses on the of the packages. What a hoot…
    Jeanne

    • Is your Grandma Julseth the same Grandma Julseth of Mary’s house? Three aprons! Why didn’t I think of that? I love the idea of an apron shower! Let’s do it! I will be there later this year…July and August. Maybe even until Labor Day. I can’t wait!

  2. Love these…so you On Feb 4, 2016 5:25 PM, “Horton Hears Herself” wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: ” I just love an apron. I like to wear an > apron when I cook. When I cook with others, I like to provide aprons for > them. I put aprons on my Aussie boys when I taught them to bake pies. > Last summer, when I made pickles with my brother-in-law, I brought” >

Leave a Reply

