One of the World’s Greatest Inventions…

Standard

There are certainly a lot of great inventions.  I used to tell my students that the best invention of all time is the flush toilet, and I still believe it is right up there.  I also find the Smartphone to be a joy, and I may even someday write a blog devoted exclusively to my phone.

However, at the moment, I am enamored of the head lamp.  My sister gave me one at Christmas time, and I have rejoiced in its use ever since.

Let me back up.  I walk a lot.  This is not new information, but just a reminder.  I walk to Mass at 6:30 AM two mornings a week.  I walk to and from a class every Monday night.  I walk to and from the home of my brother and sister-in-law on Tuesday Pizza Nights.  When I substitute teach, I walk my dog before I go to school.  At this time of year, that is a lot of walking in the dark.  Carrying a flashlight, I have found, is awkward.  It is often heavy in my pocket or bag.  It’s hard to maneuver with a dog leash.  It seems my batteries inconveniently fail mid-walk.  Having a light in the dark is one of those smart things to do.  For one thing, it obviously helps me see the road and sidewalks.  For another, it helps drivers see me.

So, I was thinking last fall that a head lamp would be a really useful gift for someone to give me.  I forgot to ask my brother and my sister here for that item on my Christmas list, and I happened to mention it to my Wisconsin sister, who is the owner of all things tool-ish and useful.  Wouldn’t you know, she left the room, and came back with an extra head lamp extended in her hand, and she said, “Here.”

I popped that thing on my head, and wore it to bed.  That night I read with it.  At home, I wear it often, and inadvertently blinded my brother as I turned it on when leaving his house one Tuesday.  I love this thing, and haven’t even begun to put it to full use.  It has the regular white LED light, and can be changed to a red light, a green light, or a flashing red light.  I think that flashing one would be good for wearing backwards, so a car coming up behind me could see me.  Now that I think about it, I might need two.  One for front directional use and one for back directional use.

Ain’t life grand?

FullSizeRender (15)

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I like them too..now you just have to ask for batteries. Things are sweet here. SUPERomelet and a walk…only bowl…yogurt and blueberries On Feb 7, 2016 12:58 PM, “Horton Hears Herself” wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “There are certainly a lot of great > inventions. I used to tell my students that the best invention of all time > is the flush toilet, and I still believe it is right up there. I also find > the Smartphone to be a joy, and I may even someday write a blog devo” >

Leave a Reply

