It’s Valentine’s Day…

Standard

But then, you don’t need me to tell you that.  The Hallmark Channel has been having its “Countdown to Love” for a month, and the newspapers have killed a bunch of trees for the ads, which pack the paper like it was Christmas or something.

Valentine’s Day was my favorite school holiday.  The kids would bring empty cereal boxes, and we would decorate them with red, white, pink, lavender, and purple hearts.  The boxes would fill up with the cards and small candies.  On the big day at the appointed time, we would all sit on the floor in a circle and open the cards, calling thank yous across the circle, while holding up the givers’ cards.

“Thank you, Sam!  Thank you, Chianne!”

“Thank you, Mrs. Horton!”

I always made the kids’ Valentines, breaking my own rule by using the despised glitter, sewing clear vinyl to stuff with confetti, or breaking up a few decks of cards to only use the Hearts.  It was magic, I tell you.

Valentine’s Day with my husband was not so much magic.  To get a card, I would have to begin reminding him a week before that there were only “seven more shopping days.”  One of my step-daughters once said, “I’d rather not get anything than to have to remind my husband about it.”  Not me!  I didn’t want to risk it.

Since being single, I haven’t thought too much about Valentine’s Day.  Amazingly, for the last five years, I have received Valentine cards anyway…from my dear Lake friend; my BFF in Arizona phones; and my next door neighbors, the ones with all the kids, have given me various love acknowledgements.  This is what I found when I came home yesterday.

IMG_0901

Some people always seem to say or do the most needed thing at the perfect time.  I wish I were like that, and I am sorry I am not. They make me try to be a better person, though, and I am so grateful to them!

2 responses »

  1. Yes Deb,
    Many have the same sentiment about Valentines Day… not everyone however, would be sensitive to the needs of others… and you dear friend ARE! Valentines in our hearts every day, 24/7… those are the folks who understand the power of love. I like to think of it as each one of us giving a Valentine to God, by how we live our lives in love. I think next year, we should have a Valentines club among our relatives… you know, secret valentine. Let’s think about that concept. We are never to old to receive or give such a prize!
    Jeanne

  2. Happy St. Valentine’s Day!!! Xoxo kath On Feb 13, 2016 12:32 PM, “Horton Hears Herself” wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “But then, you don’t need me to tell you > that. The Hallmark Channel has been having its “Countdown to Love” for a > month, and the newspapers have killed a bunch of trees for the ads, which > pack the paper like it was Christmas or something. Valentine’s Day” >

Leave a Reply

