On Eagle’s Wings…

Standard

Sing?  I’d love to.  I do love to, but I don’t have a remarkable voice.  It is just a voice, and mostly I can sing in tune, that is, if I know the tune.

I have written about singing before, so if you are a regular reader, you know that it is one of my deepest desires to sing like, I don’t know, somebody really, really good.  And sometimes, just sometimes, I can sing really, really well.  Last Sunday was one of those times.

On Sunday mornings, I walk up to my brother’s, and then the whole family walks to Mass.  That would be my brother, sister-in-law, their five children, and me.  That is a gang.  We enter the same pew: me and then the gaggle.  So, this week the lineup was me, my 9 year-old nephew, my brother, and then the rest.  I say this, so you can picture the proximity.

The Communion hymn was On Eagle’s Wings.  The chorus goes like this:  “And he will raise you up on eagle’s wings, bear you on the breath of dawn, make you to shine like the sun, and hold you in the palm of his hand.”  And to give proper credit, it was written by Michael Joncas, published in 1979 by OCP Publications.

I began to notice my nephew’s voice as we were singing, and that may be because I don’t sit by him that often or because he hasn’t sung that clearly before.  My brother, the musician/mathematician, has a very strong voice, and I do better when I have a supportive voice to follow.  As we got to the chorus, I found all three of our voices getting stronger.  We seemed to lean into each other, and we sang our hearts out.  I have heard that family members’ voices seem to blend well because of genetics.  I am not sure if that is true, but I wish you could have heard us.

It is a beautiful hymn.  It has been in my head all week, and I cannot stop thinking about that one glorious “God spot” out of many this week, when I was born “on the breath of dawn and held in the palm of His hand” while singing.

IMG_0917

2 responses »

  1. Wonderful moment. Happy for you! On Feb 18, 2016 5:52 AM, “Horton Hears Herself” wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “Sing? I’d love to. I do love to, but I > don’t have a remarkable voice. It is just a voice, and mostly I can sing > in tune, that is, if I know the tune. I have written about singing before, > so if you are a regular reader, you know that it is one of my de” >

  2. Hi Deb, What a beautiful sense of how music can lift, especially when using the singing voice. Everyone sings, its natural, its in our DNA, it’s a capability which releases longings to be with our higher power. When singing with a community, the sound and feeling is amplified with such emotion and the SONG you are singing belongs to everyone. It says, “we are one”… this I believe is God’s message for all of us to take care of each other. I hope you will continue to sing, and sing with the voice given to you by your maker. It is a voice which needs to express itself. By the by, I am starting harp lessons next week. It is on my bucket list… oh, I shall play in the angel band! Jeanne

    On Thu, Feb 18, 2016 at 6:52 AM, Horton Hears Herself wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “Sing? I’d love to. I do love to, but I > don’t have a remarkable voice. It is just a voice, and mostly I can sing > in tune, that is, if I know the tune. I have written about singing before, > so if you are a regular reader, you know that it is one of my de” >

Leave a Reply

