G’day. Aye ya gone?

Standard

That’s the American’s idea of a traditional ‘Strine greeting.  I have been home for two weeks from my Great Australian Adventure.  Since then, I have tried to write this blog many times, in my head, and I have come up with nothing.  So I just flicked it.  Now, is the time, or it won’t be written.

Actually, Australians say, “Good morning,” or whatever time of day it is.  I love Australia.  I could live there if it weren’t so far from my peeps.   Of course, North Carolina is very far from my Australian peeps, and I am really, really missing them.

This is what I love about Australia: It is an outdoor life, especially for those who live near the beaches, and that is just about everyone.  The people are very physical.  They walk most places, if they can.  They swim before dawn, they run, they surf, and they sit in the parks and picnic.  The people are very politically aware of the rest of the world, and especially America.  They know all about our elections, our candidates, our bathroom laws, our disregard for gun laws, much to my embarrassment.  They don’t tip, because they are paid enough to do a good job without that “incentive.” Australians are very fashionable, but in a lovely, casual way.  The malls are multi-storied, and chock-a-block with lovely European-styled clothing.  The city architecture is European, as well.  They update centuries-old houses into very modern and beautiful homes, keeping the facades original.  Australians are environmentally conscientious, at least the ones I met were.  They are healthy eaters, choosing whole, fresh foods over prepared ones.  (That being said, I quite enjoyed the fish and chips.)  They are joyful people and love nothing more than a good laugh.  Me, too.

Since my return, many have asked me what the best thing about my trip was.  Most of the time, it’s hard for me to pinpoint one thing as a favorite, but in this case, it is hands-down, the people…my special Aussies and all the ones to whom I was introduced and those with whom I had the gift of getting acquainted.

It is a big, huge world out there, and yet, really not.

FullSizeRender (21)

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

3 responses »

  1. As always Anne, you find the best in people AND YOU DID! I missed your blog, but your excitement and energy overflows in this return writing. I have always admired how you are able to live in the moment, you capture those moments with your gift of writing. Will you write some prayers for our little Lutheran Church in Cooksville for the summer? Our 125th anniversary year would be inspired by your love of people and their diversity. Welcome back dearest friend!
    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

