The Atmosphere of my Blog…

Standard

For two years, I have made the resolution to expand my blog.  Humph.  Not gone well, so far.  When I read that WordPress was offering a Branding Your Blog course, I knew I needed to make the effort to complete this course.

I set aside the time to answer the hard questions of why I blog, what are the wildest dreams of my blog, and what are three goals I have for my blog.  Hoo-boy.  That was a struggle, and I am not sure I was really able to answer those questions to my satisfaction, but I surged forward.

The next prompt struck a chord, though.  “What kind of atmosphere would your blog have if it were a cafe, restaurant, or bar? Loud and exciting? Relaxed and peaceful? Jazz music and beard stroking by dim light? Think about the lighting, decor, furnishings, soundtrack, aromas, people you might find in there.”

In pondering this idea, I came to answer the question of what my blog “brand” would be.  My blog is eclectic.  Sometimes it is a nature blog, other times I write about food, and then there are my crafting posts, my faith posts, and my personal growth entries.   I have my notice-the-world around-me posts and the laugh-at-myself writings, too.

So, my “place” would be a bookstore/café.  There would be soft lighting and soft, “easy listening music from the 60’s and 70’s” playing in the background, and cushy sofas and chairs grouped around the shop.  Foot stools. I’d have foot stools.  There would be stacks and stacks and stacks of all kinds of books.  Maybe there would be some collections displayed on the shelves.  Oh.  I’d have pens and pencils and paper products offered, too.  The colors would be soft and light, not sure which hues I would use right now.  I’ll think on that one.

At the food counter, I would offer soups, grilled cheese sandwiches, pies, and hot beverages…comfort offered for healing or rejoicing.   I would have one long farm table, and people would share the table with others who have come in to browse or eat or both.  There would be sounds of small talk and laughter.  There would be smells of fresh baked bread and warm soup, maybe undertones of springtime flowers.

I’d ask my baby sister to name my place.  And she would come up with a name that would make people smile, or maybe even laugh out loud.  They would leave having made a new friend or having discovered a new way of looking at something very simple.  They would feel comforted, lucky, and peaceful.

That is the atmosphere I want for my blog.  Read and think, smile, applaud, heal and rejoice.

IMG_1862

5 responses »

  1. I’d so love to hang out at your blog! Yay deepening….yay open ended questions. Xoxox+! K On May 18, 2016 10:42 AM, “Horton Hears Herself” wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “For two years, I have made the resolution to > expand my blog. Humph. Not gone well, so far. When I read that WordPress > was offering a Branding Your Blog course, I knew I needed to make the > effort to complete this course. I set aside the time to answer ” >

  2. When I come into your place I leave most of the useless thoughts and feelings that I carry around with me just outside the door. I ‘m lost for a few minutes while I read what you want to share with everyone and I’m very comfortable. Thanks for all of them.

Leave a Reply

