If Only I Were the Person My Dog Thinks I Am…

Standard

My first husband would get out of my way if I played Helen Reddy singing I Am Woman when I cleaned house.  My second husband snapped out of his delusional jealousy episodes when I played Any Day Now by Ronnie Milsap.  They knew what I hadn’t realized.  I was hanging on by the knot tied at the end of my rope.  Years passed before I even recognized it, myself.

I have been thinking a lot about how others see me differently than I see myself. My baby sister says, “You are a join-er.”  Another sister says, “Look at all you do all the other days.”  My Lake Friend says, “That’s because you have your sh*t together.”  Another friend says, “You couldn’t be any more kind.”  My dog doesn’t say anything, but she thinks I hung the moon.  Frankly, I don’t see any of it.

These are just a few observations about myself that have been shared with me the past few days, and they got me thinking about why I don’t have the full and clear picture of myself.  Most days, I feel like I am bumbling through life, and one day, I actually will have it all together enough to function as God wants me.  Ya think?

Meanwhile, it is very good to have positive feedback.  I appreciate my sisters and my friends who give me more credit than I deserve.  I need to listen to and interpret my own music choices for clearer self awareness.  And, it is very, very good to have a loyal doggie companion.

295675_1890277187105_2651598_n (1)

6 responses »

  1. So true Deb…we hear our “inner critic” so much more loudly than our happy, childlike, enthusiastic, naturally generous selves…who are Much Closer to who we are. I don’t think we were our here to beat up on ourselves…its just more ego baloney….let’s be happy Fat bottomed girls…lol..I like your self discovery through music! 🙂 love, k

  2. Deb, Your picture says it all… animals bring out our true selves… always have, always will. They are unconditional souls and those of us who adore them, know this. I am so anxious to see you in July. Now enjoy the rest of the weekend knowing that you are who you are suppose to be. Acceptness is a precious commodity. Jeanne

    On Sun, May 29, 2016 at 7:12 PM, Horton Hears Herself wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “My first husband would get out of my way if > I played Helen Reddy singing I Am Woman when I cleaned house. My second > husband snapped out of his delusional jealousy episodes when I played Any > Day Now by Ronnie Milsap. They knew what I hadn’t realized. I ” >

    • What is the most important is to live each day with love and God in your heart. That will guide you wisely Deb. XO

  3. I am so happy that those of us who love you just as you are, are telling their truth of you. On the other hand, let me get this clear. You are telling the creator, I hope I can change from the way you created me so that I will be worthy of serving you. Interesting. So the creator got it wrong when you were put together. Smile!!

Leave a Reply

