It’s 10:30pm on a Saturday Night, and I’ve been Asleep for an Hour…

Standard

Last weekend was my 50th high school class reunion, and while that should explain the title of this blog, it really doesn’t.  There, we actually “partied” until 10:30PM, and then all hell broke loose when the hotel plumbing had the entire tooth brushing and toilet flushing it could handle all at once.  You see, that’s when the Class of ’66 had already cashed in their chips and went to bed.   With their spouses, or by themselves, by the way, thank you very much.

When the heck did that happen, I ask you?  We were the generation that gave ECU the Playboy Party School reputation that still remains until this very day!  Nevermind.  It’s a moot point, and I am too tired after a day of whatever I did.

It is hard to imagine that once, staying up all night was the norm.  Driving/riding to Watkins Glen, NY for a race weekend was just something that we did.  Oh.  And there was that little event called Woodstock, too.  In those days, we sang along with Peter, Paul, and Mary, and now we pray to Saints Peter, Paul, and Mary.   Oh, dear.

So, I still ponder the question (like Mary, but I’m not making any comparison) of how I got to be in the time of life where 10:30, okay 9:30PM is past my bed time, and I really wish I had been in bed long before that, and also why does my neck feel like a vice grip put it into a 90 degree hold.  If any of you know the answer, tell me what medication you use.  I’ll ask my doc for a prescription…provided Medicare covers it, generically…just sayin’.

IMG_1937

Reunited, and it feels so good.  Night, all.

5 responses »

  1. Oh Deb,
    I am up at first light to enjoy the explosion of energy at the beginning of the day… that is why I go to bed at 9:30… at this age in life (class of 63) it’s the beginning of the day which gives purpose to creation… “in the beginning”.
    Your down home expression in every blog is magical. I am so anxious to have Wisconsin time with you and family… start packing!
    Jeanne

  2. I totally missed that event. The plumbing issues that is. Sandi & I were still partying haha!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

