Intercessory Prayers…

Standard

Intercessory prayers are when a person prays for others.  That is what Christianity is all about: love, unity, forgiveness, acceptance, mercy, patience, and kindness towards every single person.  No exceptions.  These are all basic needs for everyone, and there can’t be too many people praying for each other in my opinion.  Oh.  That is Pope Francis’ opinion, too, by the way.

I guess I am unofficially a “Cathoran.”  That would be a Catholic/Lutheran.  They aren’t that different, though some Lutherans may beg to disagree… or maybe some Catholics.  I don’t know.

Anyway, I am Catholic.  My Wisconsin family is Lutheran.  When I am here, I go to both churches.  That may be a little over the top, but I figure I have a lot of lost time to make up for, and I like it.  That’s what matters.

This year, Cooksville Lutheran Church is celebrating its 125th year here in the small village where some of my family’s ancestors settled in the mid 1800’s.  This tiny congregation has about 35 families in membership, and has been a big part of my visits when I am here in southern Wisconsin.

My sister is often Cantor and Assisting Minister, and she and Mom and our niece sing in the choir.  Our cousin is the Music Director, and when I visit, she reels me in to sing, play bells, and most recently, to write the Intercessory Prayers for special services.  Last year, I wrote some prayers, and got goose bumps hearing them sung.  This year, I wrote the Father’s Day prayers, though I was still down in North Carolina.  And today for the Homestead Service, I am reading my prayers and leading the congregation as we send up our deepest concerns for mankind.

I thank the Holy Spirit for guiding me.  It is humbling to be asked to speak through written word and voice, on behalf of others who are no longer with us, those who can’t be present, and those who will fit their feet into our shoes, moving into the future, for our world which is hurting badly, now.

So, when we respond, “Let us find You in everyone,” it is a deep felt appeal.  Intercessory prayer is the way we can make a difference when it seems as if there is nothing we can do.  Let us stand, with one voice, and pray for everyone and everything.  Lord, hear our prayer.

IMG_2004

3 responses »

  1. Tears, Deb, to find you so well used. 🙂 My prayers to yours, my friend.

    On Jul 17, 2016 11:58 AM, “Horton Hears Herself” wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “Intercessory prayers are when a person prays > for others. That is what Christianity is all about: love, unity, > forgiveness, acceptance, mercy, patience, and kindness towards every single > person. No exceptions. These are all basic needs for everyone, and” >

  2. The congregation was blessed twice yesterday; the author not only wrote the prayers of intercession, but read them with the intention of the words you wrote! Denomination is a label only, we are all ONE, ONE, ONE and that my dearest cousin and friend was cherished by all yesterday. Thanks can’t even come close to the spirituality of those prayers we heard yesterday. Now move forward to perhaps a new and creative way for all to pray as ONE in the future… there is no limit to your imagination!
    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

