Farm Days…

Standard

It’s been a busy week here on the farm in southern Wisconsin.  Bell and Chime Choir practice was on Sunday evening.  Even though I got to wear the cool, white gloves, I was a disaster, seemingly belling and chiming at random, but by the end of practice, I had definitely improved.  With my sister on one side, a friend with strong musical talents on the other, and finally, color-coded music, I managed to get through three of the four pieces with only a few mistakes.  We’ll see if it stuck when I go to practice this weekend.  The big performance is next week.  I’ll try not to embarrass myself and others.

Then there was the Rock County 4-H Fair.  The temps were high, and it was steamy, but my sister-in-law and I trudged through the stock barns.  I love a good fair, and I love seeing all the animals and exhibits.  This one did not disappoint.  We saw cows (duh, it’s Wisconsin), goats, chickens, bunnies, and the token pony.  Then we looked at all the kid art and projects, and wound things up throwing ping-pong balls into small rimmed fish bowls filled with colored water.  The game was rigged, of course, but we left with Spot, who will live out his fishy days in a horse trough.

IMG_2038

At my weekly visit to my other sister’s-in-law, we drank decadent coffee from the chocolate shop, walked the historic town square, and went to listen to her sister’s accordion band, the Junction Jammers, play for a retirement center at the town’s band shell in the park.  The hot weather had broken, the cloud cover kept the temps down, and the music was lively.  The town of Monroe was settled by the Swiss, and it shows all over, from architecture to food.  If you ever visit, be sure to go to Bummies’ for a delicious braunschweiger and limburger cheese sammy.  You’ve heard of Swiss Colony Cheeses?  They’re headquartered in Monroe.

FullSizeRender (25)

I finished the week making a hardware store run and apple picking with Dad, and carrying down items for a Garage Sale from the attic for Mom.  The folks are active and busy every minute.  Both read, keep up with current events, walk the half-mile horse track, and climb up and down the stairs of their 100 year-old farmhouse, from attic to basement, like they were, well, much younger.  They are amazing, and it’s a gift, plus good genes.

IMG_2060

Tomorrow is Krumbkake making day at my sister’s.  That’s pronounced kroom’-kock-ah.  It’s a Norwegian pastry, and an aunt and cousin will be here.  I’m not sure what the Krumbkake will be for…I think an upcoming church event.  From my understanding, they are thin cookies fried on a double-sided iron that looks something like a hamburger press with fancy designs inside.  The designs emboss the wafer.  Then each is rolled into a cone.  We were cautioned to have band-aids to protect our fingertips.  Hoo-boy.

There’s nothing like summer on the farm.  And, with a nod to Garrison Keillor, that’s the news.  Blessed be farm days, and more to come.

4 responses »

  1. Debbie. Your life there sounds idyllic 😊. And how wonderful that you still have your parents. The only Norwegian dessert I know about is called “school bread”. I always get one when I go to Disney’s Norway pavilion at Epcot. It is delicious! Really enjoying your stories

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

