Nut Dust…

Standard

Hoo-boy, and don’t even go where your 7th grade mind might be wanting to take you.  Stop it.

I’m talking literally here.  I’m talking about the previous “greatest” generation.  I’m talking about the ones who lived through the Great Depression of the 1930’s, not that little thing that happened eight years ago.

This is how it came down, and it truly explains a lot.  I cook breakfast for the folks if I get there early enough, and they haven’t already eaten.  This morning, when I was cleaning up and wiping down the counters, I asked Dad if I could toss the contents of this little bowl pictured below.

IMG_2147

He said, and this is a direct quote, “No keep it.  I need it in case I make pancakes.  It’s nut dust.”  I want to go on record here.  I am NOT making this up.

Now, I have been at the farm six weeks, and I haven’t seen a pancake flipped here in all that time.  I’m just sayin’.  He could have made pancakes.  I’m not here for every single meal.  I haven’t seen any pancakes, though.

I’m going to give myself a minute to think about the significance of nut dust…

  • That’s why the folks’ pantry could feed our family from now until Tax Day, 2017, minus bread, milk, and eggs.
  • That’s why none of us will be cold any winter for the rest of our lives for lack of wool blankets and other bed linens.
  • That’s why I have a pile of “treasures” at the bottom of my bed to take back to my tiny home when I return to North Carolina.

The KonMari Method of tidying promotes holding an object.  If it “sparks” joy, keep it.  If it doesn’t, toss it.  The phrase “nut dust” is going to be my indicator for keeping or tossing from now on. To each his own, but quite frankly “nut dust” doesn’t even begin to spark joy with me, though apparently my dad holds a different opinion.

One man’s trash is another’s “nut dust.”  And vice versa.  I need to remember this.

3 responses »

  1. I found this little story to be so enchanting, for I know your Dad, and he is about the beautiful secrets of knowing what is needed. He speaks wisdom in just a few words so I would heed them if I were you, and I know you will. Oh Deb, has it already been six weeks? We have been the lucky ones to have you this long, for North Carolina must miss you so. Thanks for this treasure of a story about your Dad. He is one in a million you know! Jeanne

    On Mon, Aug 22, 2016 at 7:02 PM, Horton Hears Herself wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “Hoo-boy, and don’t even go where your 7th > grade mind might be wanting to take you. Stop it. I’m talking literally > here. I’m talking about the previous “greatest” generation. I’m talking > about the ones who lived through the Great Depression of the 1930” >

  2. My big sister and I just spent the evening reminiscing about the greatest generation….grew up with waste not, want not…

    🙂 love, k

Leave a Reply

