Othering…

Standard

img_2257

This picture has nothing to do with the topic of the blog, and in case you haven’t noticed, my blog’s been “dark” for about six weeks or more.  It’s not for lack of material or because I’ve had writer’s block.  I’ve been busy “othering.”

The last five years of my life have been pretty much spent in ego-centric introspection.  I’m not ashamed of this.  I needed to come back to myself, get re-acquainted, with myself,  and to discover who I’d become and who I wanted to be.  In some ways, I’d been successful.  In other ways, I’m as clueless as ever.

“Othering” took me out of myself, and I’m actually quite thankful.  I was getting pretty bored with it all.  I’m not that fascinating.  Focusing on family members in need, attending to the details of someone else’s safety, and trying to just listen has been a very important diversion.  I’ve discovered some important things, and…go figure…these discoveries are all about ME.  Hoo-boy.

I’m not a great caregiver.  I’m oblivious to the obvious.  I get frustrated too easily when I’m out of my comfort sone.  As much as I like people, I need quiet time.

All good to remember.  Hope I do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. Good one Deb. We don’t always need to be the care-GIVER….sometimes just caring is enough….I always think of the Carmelites….even as a non-Catholic child I understood that contemplative prayer is an action on behalf of others, and that it had real effects.

    Now I just have to remember that going to the GoldMine is not a contemplative practice.

    Xoxo. K

  2. Deb, this is for Bonnie Best AND Othering… I have a Bonnie Best Apple tree in my yard and it is a Dwarf tree(breeded that way since the regular Bonnie Best is HUGE! You are so right about NOT eating them by just the apple, but letting them BAKE. This little Dwarf tree produced almost a bushel of the gigantic fruit and now it needs plenty of rest … kind of like you Deb, you are small and petite and you take care of MANY… Now rest…Even God rests…think on that.
    Love you,
    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

