Character Building

Standard

Erma Bombeck was my literary idol.  She said that one’s character could be judged by the way that person behaved when confronted with Christmas lights.  Frankly, the minute I read that, I knew that I was “Character Challenged.”

That was years ago, and I remain such.  Challenged, that is.  Strings of Christmas lights are my nemesis.  Every year I struggle, and every year the lights win the battle.  Years gone by, I had help with the lights.  The last few years I’ve been on my own.

Here’s this year’s episode.  My major mistake was that I didn’t plug in the lights to test them before I placed them.  I wrapped the strand around the front pillar.  I only have one.  Then I wrapped the fake pine garland.  Then I set the timer to synchronize with the actual clock.  Then I looked at the lights which did not light.  Of course.

Hoo-boy.  Next I tested the timer.  Then I got out another extension cord and plugged them inside, and the lights didn’t light.  I unplugged the timer, brought it in, and tested it.  My next move was to trade out extension cords, when lo!  I saw that the lights were NOT plugged into the original extension cord.  Viola!  Lights lit!  No meltdown!

Character is improving.  Lights lit.  I won this year’s struggle.  Tis’ a Christmas Miracle.  Nice.

img_2298

2 responses »

  1. I too am Christmas lights challenged Deb…I can remember a few melt downs over it. Now I just leave the duds pushed further into the tree and throw another gold mine dollar string on. Lol

    On Nov 26, 2016 10:15 AM, “Horton Hears Herself” wrote:

    > Horton Hears Herself posted: “Erma Bombeck was my literary idol. She said > that one’s character could be judged by the way that person behaved when > confronted with Christmas lights. Frankly, the minute I read that, I knew > that I was “Character Challenged.” That was years ago, and I ” >

Leave a Reply

