On Blogging…

Standard

When I began blogging, I didn’t expect to touch anyone’s life.  Well, mine, maybe, but that was all.  I began my blog because I needed to heal myself.  I needed to hear myself.  I needed to find the person I used to be, and I wanted to become the person I felt I was meant to be.  Audience is one of the focuses of a writer, and basically, I expected to be my own.  Audience, that is.

My first year, I spent purging.  I processed my marriage and its demise.  I processed my new, single life, and I’m still doing that.  Then, I moved away from what WAS, and focused on what IS.  Along the way, I gathered readers, most of whom were my family, some old friends, and a few new friends.

I’m not a salesperson, and I didn’t try to sell myself.  I was a little hesitant to invite followers, but I did, and some asked to be invited.  Some found me.  Bloggers read other bloggers.  That’s just good practice.  And some began to follow me.  I earned an award given to a new blogger from another blogger.  Along the way, I wrote about my observations, my communities, my travels, my challenges and my accomplishments, my home and my pets, my friends and family.  Mostly, I wrote about the little things in my life.

Some of my readers responded.  I have a few friends that always give me feedback, but most don’t.  I have basically an invisible audience, and I am not complaining.  I don’t respond often to the other blogs I read, myself.  I understand.  So imagine my total surprise and frankly, shock, when I met a reader/follower whom I never knew existed.

My lake sister had connected one of her friends to my blog, and then she brought her to meet me.  Deems (don’t you just love that name?) began to tell me how much she enjoyed my blog, beginning with the words, “Your blog saved my life.”  Imagine.  I still am trying to wrap my head around that. 

She said she had been ill and in great pain, and not wanting to take anymore medicine, she distracted herself with reading my blog, even going back to early posts, reading some of them over and over.  She told me how some of them made her laugh (the Centrifugal Force one), and others distracted her from herself.  She told me about describing my blog and my topics to one of her friends. She even mentioned a dry period I had, and how she waits eagerly for the next episode (my word).

Having a fan is just about the most amazing experience I, as a writer, could have.  Truly, words touch others.  It is beautiful and humbling for me to have met a fan, made friends with a fan, and when you look at this photo of me listening to Deems, you will see the wonder in my face that my words touched another person.  It is profound.  Thank you, Deems.  Thank you, God.

img_2499

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

4 responses »

  1. Dear dear Deb. ..told ya!

    You are a good writer and you have had a transformative tale to tell. Grateful it found your new fan.

    Maybe a print collection would help another. I am always very moved when someone tells me that something Paul wrote really meant something to them.

    Big hug. Kath

  2. I have enjoyed your blogs!!! It is fun seeing what your next topic will be…such variety!
    Keep up the great work! You are a terrific writer!

Leave a Reply

